Author Topic: video playback within firefox  (Read 4473 times)

Offline Nephilim

  • Sannin
  • *****
  • Posts: 2698
  • Country: 00
  • Chakra 56
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
  • CPU: Q94
  • GPU: 4870
  • RAM: 8GB
  • Broadband: Flow
video playback within firefox
« on: October 27, 2009, 04:04:51 PM »
I would appreciate any help on this.

I have an assignment to do however i am limited to the following.

XHTML 1.0 Transitional/strict

that's it.

yes. that is all. they want me to put a video on the front page of the site AND have it be cross browser (IE/Firefox)

the IE i got working with object

but the document wont validate with embed (which is the only thing i got working for firefox)

if anyone can help me out i'll be very grateful

just so you know. my text has nothing on how to do this...in fact it's a piece of shit. lectures aren't much help either
« Last Edit: October 28, 2009, 07:26:25 AM by Nephilim »

Carigamers

video playback within firefox
« on: October 27, 2009, 04:04:51 PM »

Offline W1nTry

  • Administrator
  • Akatsuki
  • *****
  • Posts: 11329
  • Country: tt
  • Chakra 109
  • Referrals: 3
    • View Profile
  • CPU: Intel Core i7 3770
  • GPU: Gigabyte GTX 1070
  • RAM: 2x8GB HyperX DDR3 2166MHz
  • Broadband: FLOW
  • Steam: W1nTry
  • XBL: W1nTry
Re: windows media playback within firefox
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2009, 04:15:46 PM »
I smell Java

Offline chinarakinda

  • AdvancedTactics
  • Chunin
  • *
  • Posts: 374
  • Country: 00
  • Chakra 6
    • X360, PS3, PS2
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
    • Foz4ric's Blog
  • CPU: Core Duo 2 GHz
  • GPU: Nvidia Geforce 7900 Go Gs
  • RAM: 1 gigabyte
  • Broadband: Flow
  • PSN: MissCH1evous
  • XBL: Foz4ric
Re: windows media playback within firefox
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2009, 04:39:49 PM »
Hmm seems you going SAMS, i did this course for first year.
Try using the "object" element
YOu can also  Go to w3c.org and look up "object" or video. There you can also check out standard for xhtml strict or transitional and see the rules for elements.

If I can see the code you working with that might be helpful also.

Code example:
<object classid="clsid:F08DF954-8592-11D1-B16A-00C0F0283628" id="Slider1" width="100" height="50">
  <param name="BorderStyle" value="1" />
  <param name="MousePointer" value="0" />
  <param name="Enabled" value="1" />
  <param name="Min" value="0" />
  <param name="Max" value="10" />
</object>



« Last Edit: October 27, 2009, 04:44:56 PM by chinarakinda »




An opinion should be the result of thought, not a substitute for it.

Offline Nephilim

  • Sannin
  • *****
  • Posts: 2698
  • Country: 00
  • Chakra 56
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
  • CPU: Q94
  • GPU: 4870
  • RAM: 8GB
  • Broadband: Flow
Re: windows media playback within firefox
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2009, 05:10:25 PM »
I smell Java

i wish. if i wasn't so limited i could have finished this days ago
Code example:
<object classid="clsid:F08DF954-8592-11D1-B16A-00C0F0283628" id="Slider1" width="100" height="50">
  <param name="BorderStyle" value="1" />
  <param name="MousePointer" value="0" />
  <param name="Enabled" value="1" />
  <param name="Min" value="0" />
  <param name="Max" value="10" />
</object>

this is pretty much the identical code

ill post up my code in a bit, dropbox aint sync nothing to i have to boot up lappy

Offline Nephilim

  • Sannin
  • *****
  • Posts: 2698
  • Country: 00
  • Chakra 56
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
  • CPU: Q94
  • GPU: 4870
  • RAM: 8GB
  • Broadband: Flow
Re: windows media playback within firefox
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2009, 07:25:35 AM »
 <!-- video start-->   
    <div align="center">
        <object classid="clsid:02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B" codebase="http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab" style="width: 340px; height: 256px;">
            <param name="src" value="video/mov.mp4" />
            <param name="autoplay" value="false" />
            <param name="controller" value="true" />
            <!-- the embed element is depreciated but still supported by most popular browsers, this will not validate -->
            <embed style="width: 340px; height: 256px;" src="video/mov.mp4" pluginspage="http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/" type="video/quicktime" controller="true" autoplay="false" scale="tofit"></embed>
        </object>
    </div>
    <!-- video end-->

switched to using quicktime instead of windows media

it works but i have to note the use of embed element, the object element in firefox breaks too often and displays a quicktime logo and a question mark. even though it only has rights to play quicktime formats (that error is when it tries to play flash)

thanks for the replies

Carigamers

Re: windows media playback within firefox
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2009, 07:25:35 AM »

Offline Crixx_Creww

  • Akatsuki
  • *****
  • Posts: 9057
  • Country: 00
  • Chakra -12
  • ANBU OF THE HIDDEN VILLAGE FOAK
    • Atari 2600.
  • Referrals: 11
    • View Profile
    • www.crixxcrew.com
  • CPU: Intel Q6600 @3.2 Ghz
  • GPU: Nvidia Xfx geforce 9800GTX+
  • RAM: 8 Gigs Mixed kingston and corsair ddr2
Re: video playback within firefox
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2009, 10:54:48 AM »
can you use flash? and embed roll over flash video?

Offline chinarakinda

  • AdvancedTactics
  • Chunin
  • *
  • Posts: 374
  • Country: 00
  • Chakra 6
    • X360, PS3, PS2
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
    • Foz4ric's Blog
  • CPU: Core Duo 2 GHz
  • GPU: Nvidia Geforce 7900 Go Gs
  • RAM: 1 gigabyte
  • Broadband: Flow
  • PSN: MissCH1evous
  • XBL: Foz4ric
Re: video playback within firefox
« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2009, 02:30:05 PM »
align is also deprecated when used in <div>, you may want to use inline styles with float:left or right attribute.

Are you saying that leaving out the embed is making the code break in certain browsers?

Also try using a flash video as crixx suggested.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2009, 02:41:33 PM by chinarakinda »




An opinion should be the result of thought, not a substitute for it.

Offline Nephilim

  • Sannin
  • *****
  • Posts: 2698
  • Country: 00
  • Chakra 56
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
  • CPU: Q94
  • GPU: 4870
  • RAM: 8GB
  • Broadband: Flow
Re: video playback within firefox
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2009, 07:46:17 AM »
ok so as it turns out i fail, nothing was wrong with the original code i used:

        <object type="video/x-ms-wmv" data="video/vid.wmv" width="320" height="260">
          <param name="src" value="video/vid.wmv" />
          <param name="autostart" value="false" />
          <param name="controller" value="true" />
          <img src="images/allow.png" alt="allow ie to play vid"/> <!--display image showing how to allow vid play in ie-->
        </object>

apparently Microsoft WMP does not guarantee integration will all browsers, in other words, the plug in for firefox was missing...i lol'd so hard i shat a brick.

you can find the WMP firefox plugin @ http://port25.technet.com/archive/2007/04/16/windows-media-player-plug-in-for-firefox.aspx

apparently they work with Microsoft to get windows stuffz to works with teh *nixzorz


align is also deprecated when used in <div>, you may want to use inline styles with float:left or right attribute.
im aware but it constitutes using css which they say i can't use

Quote
The web site must be developed using XHTML 1.0 (Transitional or Strict), no other technologies e.g.
CSS, JavaScript should be used.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2009, 07:49:49 AM by Nephilim »

Offline chinarakinda

  • AdvancedTactics
  • Chunin
  • *
  • Posts: 374
  • Country: 00
  • Chakra 6
    • X360, PS3, PS2
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
    • Foz4ric's Blog
  • CPU: Core Duo 2 GHz
  • GPU: Nvidia Geforce 7900 Go Gs
  • RAM: 1 gigabyte
  • Broadband: Flow
  • PSN: MissCH1evous
  • XBL: Foz4ric
Re: video playback within firefox
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2009, 08:03:51 AM »
Yea i was wondering how come yours failed cause the code was perfectly fine. I wonder how is NCC going to view your website when video require plugins etc. Are they testing that you know the code for the video to work or does it actually have to play.

I think its the former.




An opinion should be the result of thought, not a substitute for it.

Offline Nephilim

  • Sannin
  • *****
  • Posts: 2698
  • Country: 00
  • Chakra 56
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
  • CPU: Q94
  • GPU: 4870
  • RAM: 8GB
  • Broadband: Flow
Re: video playback within firefox
« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2009, 09:10:25 AM »
both i would guess, even so, regardless of my choice in media, Flash/QT/WMP, all require plugins installed.

IE does it flawlessly because it already integrated, firefox needed some help though.

what media did you use?

Offline chinarakinda

  • AdvancedTactics
  • Chunin
  • *
  • Posts: 374
  • Country: 00
  • Chakra 6
    • X360, PS3, PS2
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
    • Foz4ric's Blog
  • CPU: Core Duo 2 GHz
  • GPU: Nvidia Geforce 7900 Go Gs
  • RAM: 1 gigabyte
  • Broadband: Flow
  • PSN: MissCH1evous
  • XBL: Foz4ric
Re: video playback within firefox
« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2009, 10:40:33 AM »
Well we didn't have to embed a video. We could simple used images. We had to implement a form though but it was not required to work since what would require server side scripting.

The thing is for your video to work NCC would need to use a machine with the plugins installed. That's why i found it strange.




An opinion should be the result of thought, not a substitute for it.

Offline Nephilim

  • Sannin
  • *****
  • Posts: 2698
  • Country: 00
  • Chakra 56
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
  • CPU: Q94
  • GPU: 4870
  • RAM: 8GB
  • Broadband: Flow
Re: video playback within firefox
« Reply #11 on: October 30, 2009, 02:01:14 PM »
the video is new, the year 3's didn't have that either, i did the last one (the honey thing?) but i missed the dead line, i got differed and had to do the one for the December set.

i would assume ncc would have that. it's not like it's a proprietary or otherwise obscure format (like ogg/theora/mkv) MS is pretty common, even if it isn't there is an error notice to pop up if the plugin isn't installed.


Carigamers

Re: video playback within firefox
« Reply #11 on: October 30, 2009, 02:01:14 PM »

 


* ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Crimson609: yea everything cool how are you?
    August 10, 2022, 07:26:15 AM
  • Pain_Killer: Good day, what's going on with you guys? Is everything Ok?
    February 21, 2021, 05:30:10 PM
  • Crimson609: BOOM covid-19
    August 15, 2020, 01:07:30 PM
  • Shinsoo: bwda 2020 shoutboxing. omg we are in the future and in the past at the same time!
    March 03, 2020, 06:42:47 AM
  • TriniXjin: Watch Black Clover Everyone!
    February 01, 2020, 06:30:00 PM
  • Crimson609: lol
    February 01, 2020, 05:05:53 PM
  • Skitz: So fellas how we go include listing for all dem parts for pc on we profile but doh have any place for motherboard?
    January 24, 2020, 09:11:33 PM
  • Crimson609: :ph34r:
    January 20, 2019, 09:23:28 PM
  • Crimson609: Big up ya whole slef
    January 20, 2019, 09:23:17 PM
  • protomanex: Gyul like Link
    January 20, 2019, 09:23:14 PM
  • protomanex: Man like Kitana
    January 20, 2019, 09:22:39 PM
  • protomanex: Man like Chappy
    January 20, 2019, 09:21:53 PM
  • protomanex: Gyul Like Minato
    January 20, 2019, 09:21:48 PM
  • protomanex: Gyul like XJin
    January 20, 2019, 09:19:53 PM
  • protomanex: Shout out to man like Crimson
    January 20, 2019, 09:19:44 PM
  • Crimson609: shout out to gyal like Corbie Gonta
    January 20, 2019, 09:19:06 PM
  • cold_187: Why allur don't make a discord or something?
    December 03, 2018, 06:17:38 PM
  • Red Paradox: https://www.twitch.tv/flippay1985 everyday from 6:00pm
    May 29, 2018, 09:40:09 AM
  • Red Paradox: anyone play EA Sports UFC 3.. Looking for a challenge. PSN: Flippay1985 :)
    May 09, 2018, 11:00:52 PM
  • cold_187: @TriniXjin not really, I may have something they need (ssd/ram/mb etc.), hence why I also said "trade" ;)
    February 05, 2018, 10:22:14 AM

SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal